MISA logo.Government of South Australia logo. Link to Ministers' website.Link to sa.gov.au - find what you're looking for

About Us

Australian sea lions are being utilised as 'ocean observers' collecting information to help scientists better understand ocean circulation and the ecology of South Australia's productive shelf waters. MISA pelagic ecologist, A/Prof Simon Goldsworthy is pictured removing a radio tracking aerial from an Australian sea lion on Dangerous Reef off Port Lincoln, South Australia (Photo: Roy Hunt, Aust Geographic)Overview

Marine Innovation Southern Australia (MISA) optimises the use of South Australia's marine resources, safeguarding biodiversity and ecosystems, and establish South Australia as an internationally recognised centre for southern temperate marine research, education and development.

MISA does this by collaborating between South Australia's marine partners and focusing on innovative science.

MISA's high priority research areas are: Aquaculture; Aquatic Animal Health and Biosecurity; Biodiversity and Ecosystems ; Fisheries; and Seafood Quality, Safety and Value-Adding.

An overview of MISA's early research outcomes, projects and publications can be found in the document 'Marine Innovation Southern Australia. The first seven years: a foundation for the future (On-screen viewing: PDF 7MB) (Print version: PDF 3KB).

Charting the Course

MISA is an ambitious undertaking conceived in 2000 with the purpose of uniting all sectors involved in the development of South Australia's seafood industry and the protection of its marine environment.

Organisational Structure

Current MISA Steering Committee members are:

  • Prof Bronwyn Gillanders, CHAIR, Deputy Dean Research, Faculty of Science, University of Adelaide
  • Dr Kane Aldridge, Director, Goyder Institute of Water Research
  • Mr Keith Baldry, Director of Science and Information, Environmental Protection Authority (EPA)
  • Dr Matthew Chong, Manager, Science and Research, Department of Industry and Skills (DIS)
  • Mr Mark Cody, Director, Omega Group of Companies
  • Prof Bronwyn Gillanders, Ecology and Environmental Science, University of Adelaide
  • Dr Tim Kildea, Senior Scientist, SA Water
  • Mr Brian Jeffriess, CEO, Australian Southern Bluefin Tuna Industry Association
  • Ms Trudy McGowan, EO, South Australian Oyster Growers Association
  • Prof Jim Mitchell, College of Science and Engineering, Flinders University
  • Mr Sean Sloan, Executive Director, Fisheries and Aquaculture, PIRSA
  • Prof Michelle Waycott, Chief Botanist, State Herbarium of South Australia, DEW
  • Ms Franca Romeo, Executive Officer, Wildcatch Fisheries SA